NEWS | BOOKING | ROOM | 720° BROWSE | SPACE | TRIBE | TRAFFIC | LINK | 中文版

Nanzhuhu Community
 
About Nanzhuhu

About Nanzhuhu

Unlike other Amis villages in Nanzhuhu, the white crab symbolizes the history of this tribe. When exploring Nanzhuhu, you will be surprised by every corner. The art space remodeled from an old house, traditional cottages, gigantic slingshot installation art, everything forms part of the new scape of this community.

Location

Located at mileage 92.5km on Provincial Highway 11 in Changbin Township, Taitung County, Nanzhuhu borders Fengbin Township of Hualian County in the north and Wishibi in the south. Famous nearby sightseeing spots include Baxian Cave, and Changhong Bridge.

Origin of Zhunanhu

In the Amis dialect, Zhunanhu is Pakara'ac. According to the oral records of tribal seniors, before a ritual, Pakara'ac ancestors gathered foods from the mountain and caught white crabs in the muddy soil by the river for the ritual.
As there are many white crabs in Zhunanhu, and the first chief of the tribe was Karcaw'alac, people thus combined both words to form the name of the tribe. Today Pakara'ac is known as Zhunanhu.

Roaming Zhunanhu

Roaming in Zhunanhu, exploring local Amis culture, tasting indigenous specialty foods, visiting tribal historical sites and monuments...Sea breeze gently blows by, stars are everywhere in the night sky, Dawn Resort invites to you roam across Zhunanhu to explore the goodness and beauty of the eastern coast!



History

Antong Historic Trail

Antong Historic Trail was the main access between the Huatong Rifted Valley and the Coastal Mountain Range to Amis and the Plains indigenous tribes. After renovation in the Japanese colonial period, the trail became an important channel for coastal tribes to trade in Yuli. The trail declined as transportation developed. The trail survives today as a small number of Amis hunters hunt in the mountain via the trail. In recent years, it has become a travel trail for hiking.

Kamalowan

In indigenous languages, kamalowan means "rest". It is a resting point for travelers on the Antong Historic Trail. The bench thoughtfully made with driftwood enables travelers to fully enjoy the unique charm of coastal indigenous peoples. Besides the enthusiasm of the locals, Murals made by local indigenous people fully display their art talent.



Local Stories

Maocaowu (bipahahana)

There is a gentle slope linking the entrance to the community. A kiosk named miaocaohu (lit. cottage) was built on the left-hand side at the end of the slope for seniors to rest. The roof of the kiosk is made of burnt bamboo. By burning, the glucose and moisture contained inside the bamboo are removed to extend its life to 50 years. The tilt section is stacked with tiles to keep warmth in winter and coolness in summer. At the center of the kiosk, there is a barbecue area for locals to gather together and share their preys. In winter, it is nice making a fire and get some warmth here. Lighting fixtures in the kiosk are made of the shrimp and fish catching tools in the past, unique and special.

Grass Hat

The grass-hat-shaped wooden frame is made of the wood for lifting charcoal for burning out of the wisdom of ancestors. The aim to lift charcoal for burning is to get rid of moisture and insects. Its special style attracts the visitors' attention. In addition, there are two red brick burners next to the Grass Hat. In festive events, villagers will slaughter pigs here. The larger burner is for boiling the pig to remove its hair. The smaller one is for cooking the pork offal soup locally called blood soup.



Tribal New Scape

Kakahon

On the side is the mini gateball field of the tribe. As locals frequently travel in and out this place, the site was renovated with barbecue equipment. It is mainly used for grilling flying fish during the harvest ritual. Besides a place for locals to hold feasts, it is an open classroom. The old toilet on the other side has been rebuilt into a public toilet in the community to improve local living quality.



Fishing Island

There was no water well sixty years ago. The four ponds were the main water sources for locals. After tap water became available, these four ponds became the fishing ponds for visitors and locals.



Tribal Culture

Tribal Kitchen

This sixty-year-old historical site was a barn. By remodeling the site with the burner wisdom of ancestors, locals built two burners there: one for cooking rice and one for cooking soup, and a grilling rack with a chimney. At the harvest ritual, villagers will grill flying fish for guests to share their joy. The place has become the barbecue club of villagers and is thus called the tribal kitchen. The exterior of the building was renovated with traditional methods without using any metal products. Wires are erected with rattan, making the kitchen a sight for seeing, a place for learning, a spot for restoring tradition, and a kitchen for foods.

Activity Center

The activity center is the center of Zhunanhu. The building constructed based on the theme of a white crab intensifies the cohesion of villagers. The white crab carved on the exterior wall is an important feature of Zhunanhu. During the harvest ritual and other festivities, the Amis people will put their traditional clothes on, and the sharp colors of their clothes and their passionate dance bring the meaning of cultural heritage to Zhunanhu. The activity center is also the spiritual center of the Amis tribe.

Studio

Located across from the activity center, the studio is an improved wooden structure for leisure where indigenous people make their handicrafts.



Child Fun

Slingshot Bench

The wooden slingshot symbol at the entrance of the Antong Historic Trail is the largest characteristic installation art in the tribe, like a machine opening the trail. Beside the slingshot bench, there are the samples of different kinds of prey for children to shoot arrows or stones. To penetrate the rifted valley to get resources, early coastal Amis people walked through the Ocean Mountain Range in the past, thus forming this historic trail.



Rice Miller

The rice barn run by merchant Lin in the 1950s and 1960s contains the collective memory of hard work to community seniors and the place where children used to frolic. The rice miller was shut down some years ago, as every household has its own miller. Today, it has been remodeled into an installation art and become a local children playground to make the place more comprehensive.



Gateball Field

The gateball field near the resort is the favorite meeting place of villagers because gateball is the leisure sport beloved by both adults and children. Every afternoon, you will hear the laughter and shouts of gateball playing.



Religion

Presbyterian Church

Every Wednesday is the family day. The church will hold service at each household in turn. On Sundays, everybody goes to the church for the service.

Cathedral

Every Friday when night falls, villagers gather in the cathedral where Fr. Josef Eugster presides over a mass in the indigenous language.



Special Sights

Bathing House

A yesteryear basin using natural fountain water was built next to Gufawu. In summer, local children love to playing water here to ease the heat. Next to the basin, there is a historical well about 10m deep for citizens to take groundwater.

Pot-herb Garden

The farming area of the pot-herb garden has been expanded to grow specialty culinary ingredients in collaboration with the cooking class. It is also the nature classroom for visitors to learn more about the food ingredients of indigenous people.

Civilian Residence

As the roof leaks every time it rains, the owner was distressed, and thus built an extra-large eye-catching roof on top, making it a local "landmark".

Zoom

Dawn Resort | Address:No.26-3, Nanzhuhu, Changbin Township, Taitung County , Taiwan (R.O.C.) | Tel:089-832558 | Fax:089-832128
 | Email:resort832558@gmail.com |   line ID:nanzhuhu | Emergency Phone:0988-821--197

BlueSky information

關於南竹湖

關於南竹湖

有別於其他阿美族部落的南竹湖村莊,白螃蟹象徵著這個部落的歷史,來南竹湖親身體驗,你會發現,這裡每個角落充滿驚喜。老屋改建成藝術空間,傳統茅草屋、巨大的彈弓裝置藝術,都為這個社區帶來新風貌。

地理位置

南竹湖位於台東縣長濱鄉台11線92.5公里處,北鄰花蓮縣豐濱鄉,附近著名景點有八仙洞、長虹橋,南鄰烏石鼻。

名稱由來

南竹湖部落,阿美族語Pakara'ac (巴卡拉阿滋)。根據部落耆老口述,族人於祭祀時便會上山採集食物,並於溪流旁泥地上抓取白螃蟹作為祭祀之用。
由於白螃蟹在南竹湖地區特別多,而部落第一位頭目名為Karcaw'alac(卡罩阿拉滋)。族人一致認同將兩者發音結合,成為部落的名字,便取名為現在的南竹湖。

漫遊南竹湖

漫步南竹湖,體驗在地阿美族文化、品嘗原住民特色料理,逛逛部落遺址,海風徐徐吹來,夜晚滿天星斗陪伴,畫日風尚邀請您來南竹湖漫遊,體驗東海岸的美好!

@

歷史歲月

安通古道

通古道原本是阿美族與平埔族各聚落間來往花東縱谷與海岸山脈的交通要道,古道於日治時間整建,成為海岸部落前往玉里買賣貿易的重要機能要道,但隨著交通道路的交通工具日益改善,古道逐漸沒落。只有阿美族的少數獵人在山中狩獵,才使得此路沒有完全荒廢。近年來,逐漸成為登山休憩的旅遊步道。

卡馬路灣

卡馬路灣在原住民母語中的意思就是休息,是讓往安通古道旅人的休憩站,貼心地用漂流木做休閒坐椅,讓旅人充分享受海岸原住民獨有的魅力,牆上的壁畫不只畫出南竹湖原住民的熱情也充分展現出原住民的繪畫能力。

@
人文故事

茅草屋(比巴汗汗那)

從入口走到社區有一段緩坡,為了讓老人家可以在緩坡後有一個休息的地方,便於左手邊建了一座涼亭,取名為茅草屋。涼亭屋頂的建造,是使用燒過的竹子編製,其優點在於燒過的竹子,沒有糖份與水份,可以保存50年之久;屋瓦部分則是用瓦片砌成,冬暖夏涼。屋內中央設有烤肉區,居民平時會在此聚會分享打獵的收穫,冬天能在這升火取暖。茅草屋內使用著早期捕蝦、捕魚的工具製作成燈具,別有一番特色。

草帽

帽造型的木架,使用祖先的智慧架高燒柴用的木頭,架高木頭的目的在於除濕、防蛀蟲,特殊的造型更可以吸引遊客的目光。另外,草帽旁有兩個紅磚爐,村民於喜慶時在此宰豬,大灶用來煮豬、燙毛,小灶用來煮豬雜湯,稱血肉模糊湯。

@
部落新風貌

卡卡轟

一旁是部落小型槌球場,因居民出入頻繁,便將此地進行整理,並設置烤火設備,主要用途是豐年祭烤飛魚,除了平時可以提供社區慶功宴客炊煮之用,也可做為開放式的教學空間,一旁老舊的廁所,整建後成為部落公共廁所,改善了社區生活品質。

@

釣魚台

60年前並無水井,旁邊有四個池塘,居民都會到此擔水。自從有了自來水後,此四個池塘就改裝成一的小池塘,供遊客與居民釣魚。

@
部落文化

部落廚房

60年房屋的遺址,原為老舊倉庫,在部落改造下,廚灶延用老祖先的智慧,分成兩個灶一個煮飯一個煮湯,烤肉架有煙囪設計,於豐年祭時會烤飛魚宴請客人分享喜悅,成為村民烤肉招待客人的場所,因此有部落廚房之稱。屋子外部以傳統工法修繕,完全無鐵器製造物,電線的架設方式是以黃藤綁線,使這裡成為兼具觀賞、學習、保留傳統以及供餐的部落廚房。

活動中心

活 動中心是整個南竹湖的中心所在地,以白螃蟹為主題的建築凝聚了村民的向心力。活動中心的外牆上雕刻著白螃蟹,是南竹湖的重要特徵,每逢豐年祭、喜慶等節慶活動,阿美民族便穿著傳統服飾,鮮豔的色彩搭配熱情的舞蹈,為南竹湖帶來傳承的意義,活動中心是聚集阿美民族精神的重要場所。

工作坊

位於活動中心對面的工作坊,以木頭式的建築改良休閒場所,原住民都在此製作手工藝。

@
兒童嬉戲

彈弓座椅

部 落內最大的特色裝置藝術,木製彈弓象徵安通越嶺古道的入口,就像是打通了古道,再彈弓坐椅旁放置著打獵物種的樣板,提供小孩射箭、彈弓。早期海岸阿美族為了到縱谷去取得資源,徒步走過海岸山脈,久而久之,就形成了安通古道。

@

碾米廠

5、60年代林姓商家所經營的米倉,是社區長老汗流浹背,記憶最深的地方,也是兒時記憶嬉戲的地方。近年來,因家家戶戶都有碾米機,因此碾米廠逐漸沒落。如今改造成有文藝氣息的裝置藝術,成為當地孩童遊樂的場所,增添當地風采。

@

槌球場

近於畫日風尚旁的槌球場是村民喜愛聚集的場所,槌球是村民的休閒運動,不管大人或小孩都喜愛,每到下午就會聽到PK槌球玩樂的歡笑聲。

@
宗教文化

長老教會

每逢周三,就是家庭日,會各自輪流到各戶做禮拜。每周日則是大家一起到教堂禮拜。

天主堂

每逢週五,當夜晚來臨,天主堂凝聚了村民的信仰,在吳若石神父用原住民話主持彌撒。

@
特殊景觀

澡堂

古發屋旁有做引自山泉水的舊時洗手台,夏天,部落小朋友會在這玩水消暑。洗手台旁有一座古井,深度約10公尺,讓居民可取用地下水。

野菜園

讓原本的野菜園擴大其種植面積,並與家政班一同規畫種植風味餐使用之食材,也是遊客認識原住民食材的大自然教室。

民宅

此民宅每逢下雨,就會漏水,屋主苦惱已久下,加蓋特別顯眼的屋頂,成為當地建築的一大特色。

點圖放大

@

畫日風尚(南竹湖會館) | 地址:台東縣長濱鄉南竹湖26-3號(台十一線92.5K) | 電話:089-832558 | 傳真:089-832128
 | Email:resort832558@gmail.com |   line ID:nanzhuhu | 緊急連絡電話:0988-821--197 

藍天資訊設計維護